Where's the petcock to the radiator in a 2016 1.5L Turbo engine?

fuzzydang

First Name
Aaron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2016 Honda Civic 1.5T Sedan
Country flag
Hi Everyone,

I have been under my car a lot trying to locate the petcock drain plug for the radiator. I am trying to flush it myself but can't find it. I have seen people have pictures of it, so I know it's there and it's not a sasquatch siting. How do you get to it? Do I have to remove stuff? Do I need to remove the intake diffuser (i don't want to have to do)? Is it easier to get to by removing the air intake box? Please help. I'm a beginner DIY and would like some guidance?

Thank you
Sponsored

Jason Baker

First Name
Jason
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
2018 Civic Si Coupe
Vehicle Showcase
Country flag
Behind the crossbar closest to the lower left corner of the radiator as you look from the drivers seat out to the front of the car.
It’s white and looks like a butterfly.
Open the cap on the reservoir for better flow!

Oddwayne

Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
19’ Si coupe & 99 ej6
Country flag
It’s easier to get to on the non si 1.5t 10th gens. The si one is buried behind the intake resonator under the air box. If you have an ext or sport hatch look underneath towards the left corner. Same for the si but like I said, it’s buried behind the resonator of the intake so you’ll have to remove what seems like an unnecessary amount of parts to gain access. Easier method I’ve learned from old Honda techs I worked with, just remove the lower rad hose from the bottom of the rad. You won’t have to take apart nearly as much of the parts off and you kinda do get more old coolant out that way.

OP
OP

fuzzydang

First Name
Aaron
Threads
Reaction score
Vehicle(s)
Country flag